Akihisa HIRATA:Discovering New © Nacása & Partners Inc.
TOTO GALLERY·MA is a gallery specializing in architecture that is operated by TOTO as part of the company's social contribution program. The gallery takes its name from the unique Japanese concept of ma-ai, which describes the spatiotemporal intervals or connective voids that are perceived between people, time, and space.

Since opening in October 1985, TOTO GALLERY·MA has remained devoted to organizing solo exhibitions of architects from across the world. The gallery offers exhibitors with a unique opportunity to freely demonstrate their individuality by allowing them to design their own exhibitions and to comprehensively shape the spaces of the entire gallery as a single creative presentation. The gallery itself has a distinctive spatial configuration in which its two independent exhibition rooms are connected by an exterior courtyard. Although modest in size at approximately 240 square meters, the gallery's intimate spaces enable the creation of exhibitions that are richly imbued with the philosophies and values of the exhibitors.

The exhibitions at TOTO GALLERY·MA are planned by its Planning and Management Committee. The original committee was formed by the founders of TOTO GALLERY·MA: Tadao Ando, Motomi Kawakami, Masayuki Kurokawa, Takashi Sugimoto, and Ikko Tanaka. A new committee was elected on the occasion of the gallery’s 25th anniversary in 2010 and it is now represented by Tadao Ando (Special Advisor), Momoyo Kaijima, Akihisa Hirata, Seng Kuan and Tsuyoshi Tane.

In addition to hosting exhibitions, TOTO GALLERY·MA has organized accompanying lecture events to provide an opportunity for each exhibitor to share their ideas directly with a public audience. Starting in 1995, TOTO GALLERY·MA has also been operating together with TOTO Publishing to issue publications to convey a multifaceted picture of the ideas of each architect in combination with its exhibitions and lecture events.

TOTO GALLERY・MA aims to continue to transmit the messages of its exhibitors, who each shine with a unique light, by serving as a place for independent architects to express their personal philosophies and values throughout the years to come..
TOTO GALLERY·MA Planning and Management Committee Members
Special Advisor
Tadao Ando
Architect. Born in 1941. Self-educated in architecture. Established Tadao Ando Architect & Associates in 1969. Professor at the University of Tokyo from 1997. Became a professor emeritus in 2003 and special university professor in 2005. Has received numerous awards, including the Architectural Institute of Japan Prize, Alvar Aalto Medal (Finland), Japan Art Academy Award, Pritzker Architecture Prize (USA), Praemium Imperiale (Japan), American Institute of Architects Gold Medal (USA), and International Union of Architects Gold Medal. Awarded the Order of Culture (Japan) in 2010.
© Kinji Kanno
Committee Member
Momoyo Kaijima
Architect. 1969 Born in Tokyo. 1991 Graduated from Department of Housing, Faculty of Home Economics, Japan Women’s University. 1992 Established Atelier Bow-wow with Yoshiharu Tsukamoto. 1994 Completed the Master Course of Architecture, Tokyo Institute of Technology. 1996-97 Studied at the Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich. 2000 Completed the Doctor Course, Tokyo Institute of Technology. 2000-09 assistant professor at the Art and Design School of the University of Tsukuba 2009-22 as an associate professor.
Taught as a visiting professor at the Department of Architecture at Harvard GSD (2003, 2016), guest professor at ETHZ (2005-07), as well as at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts (2011-12), Rice University (2014-15), Delft University of Technology (2015-16), Columbia University (2017) and Yale school of Architecture (2023). In 2012 she received the RIBA International Fellowship.
She was the curator of Japan Pavilion at the 16th International Architecture Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia. 2022 She receives Wolf Prize Laureate in Architecture 2022.
From 2017 she has been serving as a Professor of Architectural Behaviorology at ETHZ and vice president of NPO Cheer Art.
Committee Member
Akihisa Hirata
Architect. Born in 1971. Graduated from the School of Architecture in the Faculty of Engineering at Kyoto University in 1994. Completed the master’s program at the Graduate School of Engineering at Kyoto University in 1997 before joining Toyo Ito & Associates, Architects. Established Akihisa Hirata Architecture Office in 2005. Professor at Kyoto University since 2015. Doctor of Engineering.
Notable works include Masuya (2006), the Bloomberg Pavilion (2011), Kotoriku (2014), the Art Museum & Library, Ota and Tree-ness House (2017). Awards include the 19th JIA Young Architect Award (2008), Golden Lion of the 13th International Architecture Exhibition of the Biennale di Venezia (2012, co-awarded to authors of the Japan Pavilion), the 31st The Murano Togo Prize and BCS Award(2018)and AIJ Prize 2022, Architectural Design Division(2022) among others. Publications include “Akihisa Hirata: Discovering New “(2018, TOTO Publishing)
© Luca Gabino
Committee Member
Seng Kuan
Architectural historian. Born in 1976. Completed a PhD in Architecture at Harvard University. Currently a lecturer at the Harvard GSD, and the director of International Architectural Education Platform SEKISUI HOUSE – KUMA LAB in the University of Tokyo. Commissioned as the chief editorial advisor of a+u magazine during 2020-21. Specializes in Japanese contemporary architectural history. Major exhibitions include “Utopia Across the Scales: Highlights from the Kenzo Tange Archive” (Harvard GSD, 2009). Major publications include “Kazuo Shinohara: Traversing the House and the City” (Lars Müller Publishers, 2021). Awards include the 2019 Graham Foundation grant, among many others.
Committee Member
Tsuyoshi Tane
Paris-based Japanese architect. He founded ATTA - Atelier Tsuyoshi Tane Architects in Paris in 2017 after being co-founder of DGT. Architects in 2006.
In his career, he has received numerous awards and honors, including, Grand Prix AFEX - French Architects Overseas 2021 and 2016, the Jean-Dejean Prize of the French Academy of Architecture, the New Albums of Young Architects and Landscape (NAJAP 07-08) awarded by the French Ministry of Culture, Estonian Cultural Endowment Grand Prix, nomination for the European Union Mies van der Rohe Award 2017, the 67th Japanese Ministry new face Award of Minister of Education Award for Fine Arts, the 67th Mainichi Design Awards 2021, Chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres in France 2023 and many others. His publication includes “TSUYOSHI TANE——Archaeology of the Future”(2018, TOTO Publishing).
© Yoshiaki Tsutsui
Gallery Information
TOTO Nogizaka Building 3F, 1-24-3 Minami-Aoyama, Minato-ku, Tokyo 107-0062
Monday; National, Summer, and New Year Holidays; and between exhibitions

※Hours and dates of operation may differ by exhibition.
Please check the calendar on the TOTO GALLERY·MA website for up-to-date information.
・1-min. walk from Nogizaka Station (Exit 3) on the Chiyoda subway line
・6-min. walk from Roppongi Station (Exit 8) on the Toei Oedo subway line
・7-min. walk from Roppongi Station (Exit 4a) on the Hibiya subway line
・7-min. walk from Aoyama-itchome Station (Exit 4) on the Ginza or Hanzomon or Oedo subway line